National Hill Climb Championship 2011

This year’s National Hillclimb is on Long Hill, near Buxton. It’s the last event for those people silly enough to still be racing, after which it’s cakes and ale till christmas and beyond.

The National Hillclimb has been running since 1944. In that time it’s been won by the following people, amongst others, Brian Robinson, Mark Lovatt, Bob Maitland, Jeff Williams, Malcolm Elliott, Paul Curran, and Chris Boardman. It’s a fairly illustrious list, exalted company indeed. I rode last year for the first time and came 24th. This year, i’m aiming for a higher placing, but can’t be sure of anything, beyond the fact that it’s an incredibly strong field and i won’t win.

this year’s form rider is undoubtably Tejvan Pettinger, and i will be hoping he wins. he is up against it, with Michael Hutchinson, Rob Hayles, Gunnar Grolund, Richard Handley and Matt Clinton all seeking to come away with a medal.

whatever happens, i resolve here and now to enjoy the experience to the full. My season has been a huge success on a personal level and i am really happy with all of the things i’ve achieved. Riding the National Hill Climb for the second time is the icing on the cake, and I am very excited that David Harmon is commentating on events.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: